Pravind Jugnauth Becomes 5th Prime Minister of Mauritius

SAJ Becomes Minister Mentor, and Roshi Bhadain Resigns

Pravind Jugnauth is now the Prime Minister of Mauritius—he took the oath today, January 23, in the presence of the President of the Republic, Ameenah Gurib-Fakim. The swearing-in ceremony took place at Sir Harilal Vaghjee Hall, at the Government House, Port-Louis.

pravin jugnauth

Fifth Prime Minister of Mauritius

Pravind Jugnauth becomes the country’s fifth PM, as he succeeds his father, Sir Anerood Jugnauth (SAJ), who resigned from the post of Prime Minister this very morning. He has taken oath today afternoon itself.

SAJ drew a parallel between this transfer of power to the one linking David Cameron and Theresa May, the latter having been appointed UK’s PM without the holding of elections.

Minister Mentor for the First Time

SAJ is now Minister Mentor, Minister of Defence, and Minister of Rodrigues. He took the oath today as well.

This event marks the first time Mauritius has a Minister Mentor.

New Minister List

The list of ministers to work under Pravind Jugnauth has also been revealed.

1. Pravind Jugnauth
Prime Minister
Minister of Finance
Minister of Internal Affairs
Minister of External Communications

2. Ivan Collendavelloo
Deputy Prime Minister
Minister of Energy and Public Utilities

3. Sir Anerood Jugnauth
Minister Mentor
Minister of Rodrigues
Minister of Defence

4. Showkutally Soodhun
Minister of Housing and Lands

5. Vishnu Luchmeenaraidoo
Minister of Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and International Trade

6. Yogida Sawmynaden
Minister of Technology, Communication and Innovation

7. Nando Bodha
Minister of Public Infrastructure and Land Transport

8. Leela Devi Dookun-Luchoomun
Minister of Education and Human Resources

9. Anil Gayan
Minister of Tourism

10. Anwar Husnoo
Minister of Health and Quality of Life

11. Pradeep Roopun
Minister of Arts and Culture

12. Étienne Sinatambou
Minister of Social Security, National Solidarity and Reform Institutions Minister of Environment, Sustainable Development, and Disaster and Beach Management

13. Mahen Seeruttun
Minister of Agro-Industry and Food Security

14. Ashit Gungah
Minister of Industry, Commerce and Consumer Protection

15. Ravi Yerrigadoo
Attorney General

16. Stephan Toussaint
Minister of Youth and Sports

17. Sunil Bholah
Minister of Business, Enterprise and Cooperatives

18. Alain Wong
Minister of Social Integration and Economic Empowerment

19. Fazila Jeewa-Daureeawoo
Minister of Gender Equality, Child Development and Family Welfare

20. Prem Koonjoo
Minister of Ocean Economy, Marine Resources & Fisheries
Minister of Shipping and Outer Islands

21. Soodesh Callichurn
Minister of Labour, Industrial Relations, Employment and Training

22.Mahen Jhugroo
Minister of Local Government

23. Eddy Boissézon
Minister of Civil Service

Vacancy: Minister of Good Governance

Today is memorable not only because of Mauritius having its fifth PM, but also because of the fact that Roshi Bhadain is no more minister. He was the Minister of Good Governance under SAJ, but has now chosen to resign. He has not been at the swearing-in ceremony of the new PM. He explained the reasons behind his actions on a Facebook post, saying that the transfer of power that has happened is not in accordance with the principles of good governance.

1 comment

  • “SAJ drew a parallel between this transfer of power to the one linking David Cameron and Theresa May”

    There’s an important difference: Cameron and May are not related. The principle may be the same, but it looks bad when you simply pass over the top post in government to your son. And bearing in mind the alleged scandals that surrounded Navin, you might think that another dynasty is the last thing Mauritius needs.

    Imagine the global outcry there would be if in a year or two Donald Trump decides to go back to his property business and hands power to Ivanka or Eric.

Your Header Sidebar area is currently empty. Hurry up and add some widgets.

Pin It on Pinterest